Illinois Natural History Survey - University of Illinois

Allen, Maximilian
217-300-7674
maxallen@illinois.edu
Assistant Wildlife Ecology Faculty

Altenritter, Matt

mea5@illinois.edu
Postdoctoral Researcher

Anders, Philip
217-265-0034
anders2@illinois.edu
Biological Informatician
Biodiversity Informatics, Data Management Systems

Andree, Sara
217-300-6874
andree2@illinois.edu
Restoration Ecologist

Ashcraft, Sara
217-300-1997
sa28@illinois.edu
Assistant Scientist, Stream Ecologist

Barnes, Jeannie
217-782-2954
jeannie.barnes@illinois.gov
Data Specialist

Barroso, Diego
217-300-8102
barroso@illinois.edu
Scientific Specialist, Data Curator

Bauder, Javan

jbauder@illinois.edu
Postdoctoral Research Associate

Benson, Thomas
217-265-6242
tjbenson@illinois.edu
Senior Wildlife Ecologist, CTAP Coordinator
Wildlife Ecology and Conservation, Avian Ecology, Quantitative Ecology

Beveroth, Tara
217-265-7303
beveroth@illinois.edu

Avian Monitoring, Avian Ecology, and Conservation Biology

Bilger, Erika
217-265-0755
ebilger@illinois.edu
Associate Aquatic Entomologist

Blackshear, Millon
217-333-1186
blackshe@illinois.edu
Laboratory Specialist

Broadway, Kyle
217-728-4851
broadway@illinois.edu
Associate Fisheries Ecologist

Butler, Steven
217-728-4851
sebutlr1@illinois.edu
Fisheries Ecologist
Ecology of Lotic Systems, Fish Movements, Dam Effects, Non-Game Fish, Invasive Species

Cao, Yong
217-244-6847
yongcao@illinois.edu
Stream Ecologist

Carroll-Cunningham, Connie
217-244-7741
carrollc@illinois.edu
Botanist
Botanical surveys, Plant ecology, IL Natural Areas Inventory, Bioswales

Chick, John
217-300-3844
chick@illinois.edu
Principal Scientist
Ecology of Large Rivers; Aquatic Ecology; Fish; Zooplankton; Invasive Species

Claussen, Julie
217-300-0998
juliec@illinois.edu
Fisheries Biologist

Cowan-Cranmer, Megan
217-300-9969
cranmer@illinois.edu
Field Biologist

Cummings, Kevin
217-333-1623
kscummin@illinois.edu
Malacologist
Conservation, systematics and ecology of freshwater mollusks.

Czesny, Sergiusz
847-872-8677
czesny@illinois.edu
Principle Aquatic Ecologist, Field Station Director, Lake Michigan Biological Station

Davis, Mark
217-333-6960
davis63@illinois.edu
Conservation Biologist
Environmental DNA, Genomics, Conservation Genetics, Phylogenetic Systematics, Geometric Morphometrics, Strategic Habitat Conservation, Landscape Conservation Design

DeBoer, Jason
309-543-6000
jadeboer@illinois.edu
Large River Fisheries Ecologist

DeWalt, R. Edward
217-649-7414
dewalt@illinois.edu
Aquatic Entomologist
Aquatic Insects, stonefly taxonomy, life history, ecology, distributions, phylogeography, conservation.
 

Detmer, Thomas
217-728-4851
t-detmer@illinois.edu
Postdoctoral Research Associate

Dickerson, Patricia
217-244-9417
pdickrsn@illinois.edu
Education/Outreach Assistant

Dickinson, Amy
217-265-7558
dickinso@illinois.edu
Assistant Scientist, Ecotoxicologist
Aquatic ecotoxicology, freshwater invertebrates, environmental contaminants

Dietrich, Christopher
217-244-7408
chdietri@illinois.edu
Systematic Entomologist
systematics, taxonomy, evolution, leafhoppers, treehoppers

Dmitriev, Dmitry
217-244-9578
proceps@illinois.edu
Research Scientist
leafhoppers Auchenorrhyncha cybertaxonomy systematics morphology immatures

Douglass, Sarah
217-300-4018
sabales@illinois.edu
Associate Malacologist

Dreslik, Mike
217-300-0970
dreslik@illinois.edu
Herpetologist
Herpetology - Ecology and Conservation of Amphibians and Reptiles

Eades, David
217-244-9422
dceades@illinois.edu
Professional Scientist, Orthopterist
species file, taxonomy, Orthoptera, Catalogue of Life

Ellis, James
217-244-5695
jellis@illinois.edu
Natural Areas Cordinator

Estes, Kelly
217-333-1005
kcook8@illinois.edu
Agricultural Pest Survey Coordinator
invasive species, agricultural entomology, integrated pest management

Flood, James
217-244-9446
jrflood@illinois.edu
Research Programmer

Gittinger, Eric
217-300-3923
egitting@illinois.edu
Fisheries Technician, Aquatic Ecologist

Hall, Loyal
217-300-7952
lph@illinois.edu
Postdoctoral Researcher

Heads, Sam
217-244-9448
swheads@illinois.edu
Paleontologist

Paleontology, systematics and evolution of insects.


Hickman, Chad
217-244-2105
chdhckmn@illinois.edu
GIS/Database Specialist

Hitzroth, Gregory
(217)300-0182
hitzroth@illinois.edu
Outreach Specialist, INHS/Illinois-Indiana Sea Grant

Hoover, Jeffrey
217-244-2922
j-hoover@illinois.edu
Avian Ecologist
bird ecology, bird behavior, bird conservation, habitat restoration

Hostert, Lauren
217-300-2015
lhostert@illinois.edu
Assistant Scientist, Stream Ecologist

Hudson, Nathan
217-300-6037
nhudson@illinois.edu
Natural Areas Research Specialist

Janssen, Eric
217-300-6431
janssen1@illinois.edu
SR SCI SPEC,WETLAND PLANT ECOLOGIST

Jarvis, Janet
217-265-6297
jljarvis@illinois.edu
Remote Sensing Specialist
GIS and Remote Sensing of natural resources

Johnson, Kevin
217-244-9267
kjohnson@inhs.illinois.edu
Ornithologist

Karsk, Jocelyn
217-300-9956
jkarsk@illinois.edu
Assistant Mammalogist

Kellerhals, Doyn
217-244-9929
dkell1@illinois.edu
Asst Large River Ecologist

Kenney, Ian
217-300-6786
ikenney@illinois.edu
Wetland Soil Specialist

Kim, Changhyun
217-300-4006
maraychk@illinois.edu
Associate Scientist-Medical Entomologist
Ecological Immunology, Microbiome

King, Sarah
217-300-3774
shuck@illinois.edu
Associate Fisheries Biologist

Kohler, Michelle
217-417-3680
mmkohler@illinois.edu
Assistant to the Collection Manager

Kuhns, Andrew
217-265-6707
arkuhns@illinois.edu
Aquatic Ecologist
Herpetology, Ecology, Conservation, Biology

LaGrange, Seth
217-300-2476
sethml@illinois.edu
Assistant Scientist, Ecologist

Lamer, Jim
309-543-6000
lamer@illinois.edu
Director, Illinois River Biological Station; Large River Ecologist

Marcum, Paul
217-333-8459
marcum@illinois.edu
Assistant Project Leader for Botany
wetlands, ecology, vascular plants, Carex, threatened and endangered species

Mateus-Pinilla, Nohra
217-333-6856
nohram@illinois.edu
Veterinary Epidemiologist. Director: Veterinary Epidemiology Laboratory
Veterinary Epidemiology, Zoonotic Diseases, Chronic Wasting Disease, Prion Biology, Public Health, Disease Ecology, One Health, Tick Borne Diseases, Toxoplasma gonddi, Leptorpira, Pathogens, Agriculture Animals, Conservation of Natural Habitats for Wildlife.

 


Maxson, Kristopher
(217) 300-9931
kmaxs87@illinois.edu
Assistant Large Rivers Fisheries Ecologist

McElrath, Thomas
217-300-5938
tcm@illinois.edu
Insect Collection Manager

McIntyre, Susan
217-300-2178
sdmcinty@illinois.edu
Wetland Plant Ecologist
wetlands, community ecology, anthropogenic ecosystems, wildlife, PES

Mengelkoch, Jean
217-265-7885
jmengelk@illinois.edu
Associate Mammalogist

Miller, Andrew
217-244-0439
amiller7@illinois.edu
Mycologist
DNA barcoding, fungal ecology, molecular phylogenetics, ascomycete systematics

Miller, Craig
217-244-0691
craigm@illinois.edu
Human Dimensions Scientist

Minnaert-Grote, Jamie
217-244-7332
minnaert@illinois.edu
HERBARIUM COLLECTION MGR

Molano-Flores, Brenda
217-265-8167
molano1@illinois.edu
Plant Ecologist

Mozzherin, Dmitriy (Dima)
217-265-6531
mozzheri@illinois.edu
Biodiversity Informatician

Mui, Jen
217-333-5986
jmu@illinois.edu


Murphy, Michael
217-265-7793
mmurph@illinois.edu
Botanist

Nannini, Michael
618-245-6348
mnannini@illinois.edu
Aquatic Ecologist

Nieset, Julie
217-300-2472
jenieset@illinois.edu
Wetland Plant Ecologist

Olnas, Andy
217-244-0918
aolnas2@illinois.edu
Botanist/Wetland Plant Ecologist

Osborn, Joshua
217-244-7675
osbornjm@illinois.edu
Associate Waterfowl Ecologist

Ower, Geoffrey
217-300-7834
gdower@illinois.edu
Research Programmer

Parker, Christine
518-637-7915
cmroy2@illinois.edu
Graduate research assistant

Parker, Jerrod
(217) 300-0997
jlparke2@illinois.edu
Large River Ecologist

 

 


Parkos, Joe
217-728-4851
parkos@illinois.edu
Field Station Director

Peterson, Scot
847-872-8677
scotpete@illinois.edu
Assistant Aquatic Ecologist

Lake Michigan nearshore ecology, community ecology, food web dynamics


Philipp, David
217-244-5055
philipp@illinois.edu
Conservation Geneticist

Phillips, Chris
217-244-7077
caphilli@illinois.edu
Associate Research Program Leader

Porreca, Anthony
217-728-4851
porreca@illinois.edu
Assistant Field Station Director

Price, Edward
217-300-6242
epprice2@illinois.edu
Botanist

Reiley, Bryan
217-300-3557
breiley@illinois.edu
Assistant Scientist - Avian Ecologist

Robinson, Jason
217-300-3556
jrob@illinois.edu
Associate Entomologist
Insects, biological assessment, biogeography, evolution, niche modeling

Rondon, Justin

jrondon@illinois.edu
Natural Science Lab Assistant

Roskov, Yury
217-300-0595
yroskov@illinois.edu
Catalogue of Life Executive Editor

Taxonomic databases. Digital imaging and databasing of herbarium specimens. Plant taxonomy and nomenclature.


Ross, Jason
217-300-3525
rossjp15@illinois.edu
Associate Herpetologist

Roswell, Charles
847-872-8677
croswell@illinois.edu
Asst. Research Scientist in Aquatic Ecology

Ruffatto, Danielle
217-300-9347
ruffatt1@illinois.edu
Media Communications Specialist

graphic designer • illustrator • writer


Rye, Timothy
217-345-0974
trye@illinois.edu
CTAP Botanist

Schauber, Eric
217-333-6830
schauber@illinois.edu
Director/Principal Scientist

Schelsky, Wendy
217-333-4712
schelsky@illinois.edu
Biological Surveys Coordinator
Avian Life History, Host-Parasite Interactions, Molecular Ecology

Sherwood, Joshua
217-244-2157
jsherwo2@illinois.edu
Associate Ichthyologist
Fish, Freshwater mussels, streams

Sivicek, Valerie
217-265-7886
sivicek@illinois.edu
Field Biologist

plant ecology


Soeken-Gittinger, Lori
217-300-1036
soeken@illinois.edu
Water Quality Specialist, Aquatic Ecologist

Solomon, Levi
309-543-6000
soloml@illinois.edu
Field Research Coordinator

Soucek, David
217-265-5489
soucek@illinois.edu
Ecotoxicologist, Entomologist
Ecotoxicology of freshwater invertebrates

Spencer, Joseph
217-244-6851
spencer1@illinois.edu
Insect Behaviorist
Insect resistance, behavior, movement & migration, transgenic crops, corn

Spyreas, Greg
217 300-4023
spyreas@illinois.edu
Research Scientist: Plant Ecology & Botany

Stanhope, Kimberly
217-300-4024
stanhope@illinois.edu
Outreach Coordinator

Stein, Jeffrey
217-244-1516
jastein@illinois.edu
Senior Research Scientist
ecology of recreational fisheries; recruitment & reproductive ecology; age and growth of fishes; spatial ecology; fisheries data management

Stephens, Dan
217-300-0875
danieljs@illinois.edu
Hunter and Trapper Recruitment Specialist

Stephens, Lauren
(217) 244-5121
laurenjs@illinois.edu
Senior Scientific Specialist

Stodola, Alison
217-300-0969
alprice@illinois.edu
Assistant Aquatic Biologist

Stodola, Kirk
217-300-4003
kstodola@illinois.edu
Associate Ornithologist

Stone, Chris
217-300-5974
cstone@illinois.edu
Medical Entomologist

Behavioral ecology of mosquitoes; environment-pathogen-vector interactions; integrated vector management


Tan, Milton
217-300-0987
miltont@illinois.edu
Assistant Research Scientist in Biodiversity Genomics

Taylor, Christopher
217-244-2153
cataylor@illinois.edu
Ichthyologist/Astacologist, Curator of Crustaceans

Natural history and evolution of North American crayfishes.  Conservation of aquatic biodiversity and habitats.


Thomas, Michael
300-2790
thomasmj@illinois.edu
Natural Sciences Laboratory Technician III

Tiemann, Jeremy
217-244-4594
jtiemann@illinois.edu
Associate Aquatic Ecologist
fishes, freshwater mussels, aquatic snails, endangered species, streams

Tompkins, Joshua
217-728-4851
jtompkin@illinois.edu
Assistant Fisheries Ecologist

Tweddale, Tari
217-265-0583
tweicher@illinois.edu
GIS Coordinator
GIS, Remote Sensing, Spatial database development, management, and analysis

Ulaszek, Eric
217-244-3957
eulaszek@illinois.edu
Botanist

Vinsel, Rachel
217-300-5726
rvinsel2@illinois.edu
Assistant Data Curator

Walberg, Eric
217-300-4649
ewalberg@illinois.edu
Human Dimensions Research Coordinator

Ward, Michael
217-244-4089
mpward@illinois.edu

Avian Ecology

Wetzel, Mark
217-244-2108
mjwetzel@illinois.edu
Aquatic Oligochaetologist / Macroinvertebrate Zoologist
taxonomy/systematics - aquatic & terrestrial annelid worms, other aquatic groups

Whitten, Andrya
309-543-6000
awhitten@illinois.edu
Assistant Large River Fisheries Ecologist

Wiesbrook, Scott
217-265-0368
swiesbro@illinois.edu
Assistant Project Leader for Soils

Wilm, Brian
217-244-2176
wilm@illinois.edu
Assistant Project Leader for Botany

Wylie, Daniel
217-244-4494
dwylie@illinois.edu
Zoological Collections Manager

Yan, Jiayue
217-300-7112
jiayue@illinois.edu
Visiting Research Scholar

Yetter, Aaron
217-300-4038
ayetter@illinois.edu
Waterfowl Ecologist

Yoder, Matthew
217-244-9473
diapriid@gmail.com
Biological Informatician
Biodiversity Informatics, Ontologies, Hymenoptera, Diapriidae

Zaya, David
217-244-1946
dzaya1@illinois.edu
Plant Ecologist

Zercher, Bradley
217-333-3870
zercher@illinois.edu
Wetland Field Biologist

Illinois Natural History Survey

1816 South Oak Street, MC 652
Champaign, IL 61820
217-333-6880
cms@inhs.illinois.edu

Terms of use. Email the Web Administrator with questions or comments.

© 2019 University of Illinois Board of Trustees. All rights reserved.
For permissions information, contact the Illinois Natural History Survey.

Staff Intranet
Login